Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQs)
- General Johns Creek Driving School FAQs
- Drivers Education & In-Car Driving Lessons FAQs
- Road Test FAQs - Coming Soon!
- Defensive Driving Course FAQs
- What services do you offer?
Currently, we are offering weekly classes for Driver's Ed (classroom and online), Driving Lessons, Road Test services and Defensive Driving Courses.
- How frequently will classes be offered?
We offer our classes seven days a week. Our complete class schedule is available at www.jcdrivingschool.com/schedule
- What should I bring with me to class?
Just bring yourself. All materials will be provided by us.
- What forms of payment are accepted?
Cash, money orders, Visa, MasterCard and Discover are all acceptable forms of payment. We DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS.
- Do you allow refunds? We do not allow refunds but will let you reschedule your course to another date but only ONE time for Defensive Driving classes. Also, for Driver's Ed their is a $100 rescheduling fee if you change classes within 7 days of scheduled course.
- What is Joshua's Law?
Joshua's Law is a new state requirement for teen drivers that started January 1, 2007. It states that if you are 16 years old, you must complete a driver's education course approved by the Department of Driver Services in order to receive a Class D license. Individuals who do not complete an approved Driver's Education Course must wait until age 17 to become licensed.
- Do the same rules apply if my child is seventeen years old?
No, but he or she must have 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 of which must be at night.
- What if my child just moved to the state of Georgia?
Any 16-year-old must take an approved Driver’s Education Course in order to be issued a license in Georgia. If your child has taken a course out of state, please contact the Department of Driver Services.
- Where does my child go for lunch during the 30 hour course?
We have a 45 minute to 1 hour lunch break (times vary depending on class schedule) every day and most students eat at Mellow Mushroom, Egg Harbor or Great Harvest Bread Company across the street from our facility.
- Can my child bring a lunch?
Yes, students are able to bring their lunch and eat at the driving school during their lunch break.
- Do you perform any actual driving during the 30-hour course?
No, we prefer to do the actual driving lessons after students have gained a foundation of knowledge in a classroom setting.
- Can I get a group discount through online registration?
Yes, please call the JCDS office directly at 770-232-0900 and we will give you a "discount code" for your group.
- Does everyone in the group have to pay all at once?.
No, we only require an initial deposit of $225 per student to reserve a spot, which can be paid up to the first day of class. You also have up to the first day of class to add students to your group to increase your discount. The remaining balance is due on the last day of class.
- Can my teen miss one day of Driver's Ed?
No. During the summer, ALL of our classes fill up and the State of Georgia only allows 30 students per class. Hence, we do not allow Make-up students. Please contact the office at 770-232-0900 for further details. *During the school year, Make-Up's are allowed on case-by-case basis depending on class enrollment.
- When should we schedule "In-Car Driving Lessons"? We recommend ALL students schedule their "In-Car Driving Lessons" immediately following the 30 hour Driver's Ed Course. Note: ALL "In-Car Driving Lessons" must be completed within 6 months of the 30 hour course.
- FAQ's - Coming Soon!
- What is a Defensive Driving Course?
This course is designed to teach you how to drive safely and responsibly by reviewing the basic rules of the road and covering many important Georgia highway laws.
- How long is the course?
This is a 6-hour class certified by the Georgia Department of Driver Services and is often required by Georgia courts.
- How far in advance must I sign up for a class? We recommend you sign up the week prior to class to ensure your spot, but you can register online the night before (based on availability) or call 770-232-0900 the day of class to check availability.
- Can I take this course online?
No, the Department of Driver Services requires that this course be taken by classroom instruction at a certified school for Defensive Driving.
- How often may I take this course for driver’s license point reduction?
This course can be taken once every 5 years.
- How do I qualify for a reduction in my insurance premiums?
Simply verify with your insurance company that you are eligible for the reduction.
- Will my teenager qualify for a reduction in insurance premiums?
Check with your insurance agent for requirements.
- By taking this course, may I receive credit for an insurance premium reduction, driver’s license point reduction and other similar benefits?
No, you may only use your "Certificate of Completion" in this class towards only ONE of the benefits above.
I was 5 minutes late and the instructor would not allow me to attend the class. Can they do that?
Yes. Schools are required to deny entrance to any student that is not on time or late returning from breaks.
Can I get a refund from the school if I'm unable to attend the class or if I was denied entrance because I was late?(back to top)
Most schools will not issue refunds. We may allow you to attend another class.
Two Locations | Same Owners
Two Locations | Same Owners:
Johns Creek Driving School
6000 Medlock Bridge Parkway
Johns Creek, GA 30022
Drive Smart Georgia
13695 Highway 9
Alpharetta, GA 30004
Click here for a larger map to Johns Creek Driving School , and get customized directions from Google Maps.